Sigma13

I’m a member of the Stash Knit Down group on Ravelry: an amazing group of knitters, crocheters and other kinds of stash-aholics, and there has been much excitement around 2013 since, ooooh, probably the middle of November.  (New Year!!  Clean slate!  Resolutions!  Goals!!!).  The board is *nuts* right now, as everyone piles in with the joy of This Year, I’ll Get It Right.

Anyway, there are oodles of challenges, and any number of goal-setting opportunities.  One of my favourites (partly because it was my idea, but only partly) is the Sigma13 challenge, named for the fact that you are summing from 13 to 1, like the 12 days of Christmas, but woolier.  This is a year-long challenge, and my list is designed to allow overlap between categories:

  •  13 sewing projects
  • 12 lengths of yardage (weaving)
  • 11 spinning projects
  • 10 pairs of socks
  • 9 deep-stash items (pre-2012 yarn/fibre)
  • 8 sweaters/cardis
  • 7 things from handspun
  • 6 gifts for others
  • 5 laaa-cy shawls!
  • 4 vests for work
  • 3 challenge techniques
  • 2 cozy blankets
  • 1 10,000 metre stash down!

Any bets on how much of this I’ll manage to get done in the next 12 months??

3 thoughts on “Sigma13”

  1. You can double up, can’t you? Like a laaa-cy shawl could be a gift, and deep-stash item all at once? Good luck! I did not do very well on my similar challenge last year, partly because I forgot all about it!

    Like

  2. I do love this idea. 🙂 I’m going to lay bets on your getting at least 2/3 of it done because I know how well you rise to challenges.

    Unfortunately for me, much as my stash has grown beyond all recognition over the past year (which is why I associate strongly with the lady who said she realised she’d bought her stash in an effort to buy spare time), I have one, single goal for 2013:

    1. Find spare time.

    Unfortunately I don’t like my chances! I’ve officially cancelled my social life for 2013.

    Like

Leave a comment